Horizon Scanning Working Group 3: Energy Efficiency

The Energy-SHIFTS Working Groups – of which there are four – run from Autumn 2019 to Summer 2020. This Working Group 3 is specifically interested in research broadly relating to Energy Efficiency.

We will provide a detailed list of 100 Social Sciences and Humanities (SSH) research questions relating to Energy Efficiency, which we believe should be prioritised in future EU-funded research and innovation, specifically under Horizon Europe. We are identifying these research questions through a systematic Horizon Scanning methodology.

Energy-SHIFTS has a direct policy advice role to the European Commission’s Directorate General for Research and Innovation (DG RTD), and this Working Group will submit its funding recommendations to its Ecological and Social Transitions (C5) and the Clean Energy Transition (D1) units.

Further information can be sought from the Working Group Chair (chris.foulds@anglia.ac.uk).

Working Group 3 steering committee

Chris Foulds
Chris FouldsChair
Anglia Ruskin University, United Kingdom
Thomas Berker
Thomas BerkerCo-chair
Norwegian University of Science & Technology, Norway
Sarah Royston
Sarah RoystonCo-chair
Anglia Ruskin University, United Kingdom
Quentin Genard
Quentin Genard Critical Policy Friend
Third Generation Environmentalism (E3G), Belgium
Efthymia Nakopoulou
Efthymia NakopoulouEarly Stage Researcher
National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece

Working Group 3 members

We are very grateful for the following colleagues who are kindly engaging with us in this Horizon Scanning initiative, as part of the core group of researchers that are helping to select our final research funding priorities and to develop an accompanying narrative that binds our recommendations together.

Name and Surname Affiliation Country
Simone Abram Durham University  United Kingdom
Branko Ančić Institute for Social Research in Zagreb Croatia
Efstathios Arapostathis National and Kapodistrian University of Athens Greece
Gabriel Badescu Babeş-Bolyai University of Cluj Romania
Richard Bull Nottingham Trent University UK
Jed Cohen Johannes Kepler University Austria
Catherine Cooremans Université de Lausanne & EcoDiagnostic Geneva Switzerland
Tessa Dunlop European Commission Joint Research Centre Italy
Niall Dunphy University College Cork Ireland
Claire Dupont Ghent University Belgium
Corinna Fischer Oeko-Institut E.V. Germany
Kirsten Gram-Hanssen Aalborg University Denmark
Catherine Grandclément Électricité de France (EDF) France
Eva Heiskanen University of Helsinki Finland
Nicola Labanca No affiliation Italy
Maria Jeliazkova Sofia University Bulgaria
Helge Jörgens Instituto Universitário de Lisboa Portugal
Margit Keller University of Tartu Estonia
Florian Kern Institute for Ecological Economy Research Germany
Patrizia Lombardi Politecnico di Torino Italy
Ruth Mourik DuneWorks The Netherlands
Michael Ornetzeder Austrian Academy of Sciences Austria
Peter Pearson Imperial College London/Cardiff University UK
Harald Rohracher Linköping University Sweden
Marlyne Sahakian University of Geneve Switzerland
Ramazan Sari Middle East Technical University Turkey
Karina Standal Center for International Climate Research Norway
Lidija Živčič Focus Association for Sustainable Development Slovenia

*Additional members may be added in due course

Key publications

Foulds, C., Genard, Q., Berker, T. and Bharucha, Z.P., 2019. Terms of Reference: Energy-SHIFTS Working Group 3 – Energy Efficiency. Cambridge: Energy-SHIFTS.

Foulds, C., Bharucha, Z.P., Krupnik, S., de Geus, T., Suboticki, I., Royston, S. and Ryghaug, M., 2019. An approach to identifying future Social Sciences & Humanities energy research priorities for Horizon Europe: Working Group guidelines for systematic Horizon Scanning. Cambridge: Energy-SHIFTS.